A tour of the Golf ‘n Stuff arcade from the 1984 Karate Kid movie

Posted: 2013/08/04 in Arcade room, Retrogaming
Tags: , , ,

Cavalcade of Awesome

Cavalcade Arcade

Late last year I took a look at the Pinball City arcade from the 1980 movie Midnight Madness.  It featured lots of good, awesome vintage arcade games for us to take a look at.  It was a pretty popular article so I thought I’d take a look at another movie arcade.  This time, I’m looking at the famous Golf n’ Stuff arcade from The Karate Kid.

Here is that spinning red sign.

Golf n Stuff sign 1Golf n Stuff sign 2

Until grabbing screenshots for this article, I never noticed the sign has a hole in it right by the ‘S’ in Stuff.  Interestingly, the director, John Avildsen, has been posting film he took in 1983 when they were rehearsing for shooting The Karate Kid. Some of the Golf n’ Stuff rehearsals are out there. The spinning sign has that same hole in it.  I love that continuity.

So, Daniel and Alli go to this mythical…

View original post 1,008 more words

Comments are closed.